Skip to content

New Commission Will Advance Equality and Opportunities for MetroWest Women

September 22, 2014

womens commission

Last week, Governor Deval Patrick signed into law a bill creating a new MetroWest Commission on the Status of Women, Senator Karen Spilka (D-Ashland) announced.

Modeled after the state-wide Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW), the MetroWest regional commission will study and report on the status of women and girls in the region and report findings annually to MCSW. The MetroWest women’s commission will identify and address the challenges that women face in MetroWest communities and work at the local level to promote equal access to health care, employment, education and economic development opportunities for women and girls.

“This commission will amplify the voices of women and girls in the MetroWest region and identify specific ways to advance women’s rights here and across the state,” Senator Spilka said. “We are promoting equality and opportunity for all women in our communities and helping to inspire the next generation of female leaders in the Commonwealth.”

There are currently five county and regional women’s commissions operating under the umbrella of the Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women in Berkshire County, Bristol County, Cape and Islands, Essex County and Worcester County. The new law fills a gap in commission coverage to ensure that women and girls of MetroWest also have their voices heard.

The MetroWest Commission will consist of nine members appointed by the Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women, in consultation with local women’s organizations. Applications to serve on the Commission are due December 1st, and all individuals with knowledge of the challenges women face in MetroWest communities are encouraged to apply.

Click here to download the application.

For the purpose of this act, MetroWest communities include: the towns of Ashland, Bellingham, Dover, Framingham, Franklin, Holliston, Hopkinton, Hudson, Maynard, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Natick, Needham, Norfolk, Northborough, Norwood, Sherborn, Southborough, Stow, Sudbury, Walpole, Wayland, Wellesley, Westborough, Weston and Wrentham, and the city of Marlborough.

The Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women is an independent state agency created in 1998 by the Legislature to advance women of the Commonwealth to full equality in all areas of life and to promote their rights and opportunities. The Commission works to provide a permanent, effective voice for all women across Massachusetts.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: